Skip to content Skip to footer

“Don’t ask what the world needs. Ask what makes you come alive, and go do it.!”


Meet the Pastor

The Reverend Dr. Winterbourne LaPucelle Harrison-Jones is a scholar, author, ecclesial leader, and distinguished Churchman out of the linage of Dr. William Augustus Jones, Dr. James Forbes, Dr. Mordecai Wyatt Johnson and Dr. Howard Thurman.

A fifth-generation minister, Dr. Harrison-Jones is widely sought after as a preacher, speaker and workshop facilitator.  Reverend Harrison-Jones is a 2006 graduate of Theodore Roosevelt Senior High School in Washington, D.C. and a 2010 graduate of the historic Fisk University in Nashville, Tennessee, where he earned his bachelor’s degree in Religious and Philosophical Studies. As a scholar, Reverend Harrison-Jones investigates how theological and homiletic resources within Christian traditions are valuable for interpreting and responding to such pressing public issues as economic deprivation, religious bigotry, racism, class inequity, and structural inequality.

Reverend Harrison-Jones is married to Mrs. Jillian Ardelia Harrison-Jones, who is a doctoral candidate in choral conducting at the University of Cincinnati College Conservatory of Music and serves as the Richard Wesp Assistant Conductor of the Cincinnati Children’s Choir and the Music Director of MUSE, the Cincinnati’s Women’s Choir.

His credo is shaped by words of noted scholar, theologian and 1926 graduate of Rochester Theological Seminary, now Colgate Rochester Crozer Divinity School, Dr. Howard Thurman; “Don’t ask what the world needs.  Ask what makes you come alive, and go do it.  Because what the world needs is people who have come alive!” 

During periods when there was not a permanent pastor on staff, Witherspoon has been blessed to have an array of competent, caring, spiritually enlightened pastors guide her congregation and programs:

  • The Reverend Doctor Clinton M. Marsh – 1994
  • The Reverend Ernest Newborn, Pulpit Supply – 1998-1999
  • The Reverend Dr. John M. Thomas, Interim – 2004-2005
  • The Reverend Carl Radford, Pulpit Supply, 2005-2006
  • The Reverend Dr. Sylvester Lorenzo Shannon, Temporary Supply – 2006-2007

Meet Our Leaders and Staff

There are three distinct groups of leaders here at Witherspoon. First, our Elders, second our Deacons, and then third, our active staff.


The Council of Session consists of the Pastor and the nine elders in active service.  Each class of elders consists of three members elected by the congregation to serve three-year terms.  These terms are staggered so that three elders retire from the Session each year, and three newly elected elders join the Session each year.  The Session meets on a monthly basis to carry out its responsibilities for the mission and government of the church.

Elders and Roles
  • Mary Harden, Clerk of Council
  • Muriel Treadwell, Assistant Clerk of Council
  • Aida Cowans, Discipleship and Christian Education
  • James Fletcher, Community Engagement and Evangelism
  • Betty Jo Rawls-Lloyd, Congregational Care
  • Dr. Andrew Moore, Finance and Stewardship
  • Dr. Patricia Payne, Congregational Life
  • John Waldon, Facilities and Grounds
  • Steve Wood, Facilities and Grounds


The primary role of the deacons at Witherspoon is to provide a ministry of care and compassion to our members in cooperation with our pastors.  Deacons are elected to a three-year term

  • Cathy Banks
  • Micros Berry
  • Sharon Branch
  • Darnell Browning
  • George Cowans
  • Sylvia Fielder
  • Nikki Graham
  • Barbara Malone
  • Kourtney Montgomery
  • Luther Montgomery
  • Evelyn Pace
  • Danielle Smith

Witherspoon Presbyterian Church
3535 W. Kessler Blvd. N. Dr.
Indianapolis, IN

Witherspoon Presbyterian Church © 2024. All Rights Reserved.