The belief that the people of God are called to be leaders is at the heart of the Presbyterian way. This commitment manifests itself in a style of “representative democracy” that is unique in the worldwide church. This representative democracy is embodied in the boards of the church: the Session and the Board of Deacons. 

Witherspoon is governed by a dedicated group of servant-leaders who take very seriously their call to serve the Church of Jesus Christ. Each leader possesses the spiritual maturity and moral resolve that enables Witherspoon to be the transformative beacon of light and love that it has become over the last century.

The Council of Session

The Council of Session consists of the Pastor and the nine Elders in active service.  Each class of Elders consists of three members elected by the congregation to serve three-year terms.  These terms are staggered so that three elders retire from the Session each year, and three newly elected elders join the Session each year.  The Session meets on a monthly basis to carry out its responsibilities for the mission and governance of the church.

Active Elders

Elder Mary Harden, Clerk of Session
Elder Muriel Treadwell, Assistant Clerk of Session

Elder James Fletcher, Evangelism & Outreach 
Elder Nikki Graham, Facilities
Elder Mary Harden, Branding & Communications
Elder Dr. Betty Jo Rawls-Lloyd, Congregational Care 
Elder Dr. Andrew Moore, Finance & Stewardship
Elder Dr. Patricia Payne, Congregational Life 
Elder Muriel Treadwell, Discipleship & Christian Education
Elder John Waldon, Facilities 
Elder Steve Wood, Congregational Care

The Board of Deacons

The primary role of the deacons at Witherspoon is to provide a ministry of care and compassion to our members in cooperation with our Pastor.  Deacons are elected to a three-year term.

Active Deacons 

Deacon Karen Waldon, Moderator
Deacon Luther Montgomery, Vice Moderator
Deacon Micros Berry
Deacon Sharon Branch, Secretary
Deacon Walter Hart
Deacon Dr. Rosie Hicks, Treasurer
Deacon Regina Edmonds Majors
Deacon Celeste Nance Mann
Deacon Kourtney Montgomery
Deacon Billie Moore
Deacon Danielle Smith
Deacon Brigitte Todd

The Witherspoon Staff and Core Team

Mrs. Celeste Mann, Administrative Assistant
Mr. Rick Stratton, Sexton
Elder Dr. Robert Stokes, Treasurer
Elder Larry Banks, Assistant Treasurer (Fund Development)
Minister Josiah McCruiston, Youth Pastor 
Mr. Robert Treadwell, Multimedia Ministry Lead
Mr. Dominic Dorsey, Webmaster 
Deacon Danielle Smith, Special Events 
Deacon Karen Waldon, Bereavement
Elder James Fletcher, Outreach Coordinator
Elder Patricia Johnson, WPC Food Pantry Coordinator
Elder Terrie Cross Gray, Care and Connection Coordinator
Deacon Sharon Branch, Care and Connection Coordinator
Mrs. Camike Jones, Children’s Church Lead
Mr. Myron Williams, Musical Equipment Technician
Reverend Bill Myers, Jazz at Witherspoon Coordinator
Ms. Sandra Gay, Actors Ink@Witherspoon Director
Mrs. Marilynn Scott, Hospitality Coordinator
Deacon Bridgett Todd, Fellowship Hour Liaison